A plea to vandals…

29Nov06

Dear vandals,
I notice around town that you like to “mark your territory” using graffiti sometimes. I have to say, in the past I’ve seen some very nice looking graffiti. But, today’s graffiti is just lame. And I mean LAAAAAAMMMMMMMME. It’s like you don’t even try. You just spray paint some stupid marks and symbols… it really looks dumb. And you choose some pretty stupid shit to mark, too. Trash cans… store signs… dumb.
Today I saw a bridge where someone just used a damn Sharpie to write “Thrash Monstas“. Not even with any sort of attempt at making the words look “dope”, or whatever the lingo is these days. It was just… printed. I guess at least it was legible.

Anyway, if you’re gonna mark your territory, can you at least make it interesting to look at? I mean, I know it’s going to get power-sprayed off… or painted over, and hopefully quickly… but if you’re going to put in the time and energy to steal spray paint and mark up someone elses property it only makes sense.
Thank you.
3 Responses to “A plea to vandals…”

  1. 1 Mr. Fabulous

    Gee whiz, how many different cans do you expect me to carry around? I gotta travel light, girl!

  2. 2 Amy

    I know you run around with your homies… make them carry some, yo!

  3. 3 Zed

    FURTHER SUGGESTIONS TO GRAFFITI ARTISTS:
    I like my graffiti to be nicely printed. If you could use a ruler or other tool to help write your stuff on a straight line, I would much appreciate it. Oh, and red, yellow, navy and black are my favorite colors. Thanks so much!


Leave a Reply

