Good memory

13Dec06

Chris inspired me to write this post. He posted about how his young niece remembers who he is, and it reminded me of this. So, thanks for the idea, Chris.

The summer after high school (before Basic Training) I worked at the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo at a gift shop located in the ape-house, or “Primate World”. This particular summer the new building was unveiled, where you could see the animals behind glass and get pretty close to them (they could come right up to the glass, and so could you), instead of them being behind bars.

There was a young Orangutan named Talukan. He was a mixed breed (Bornean and Sumatran), so the zookeepers raised him because he was rejected by his mother. He was so cute, and would come up to the glass all the time and be very playful and friendly. He started to recognize me, as I would go visit him everyday at lunch… he would be playing at the glass with some of the people, then come to see me when I would come around (I was special, huh?).

After the summer, I left for Basic Training. After Basic Training I went to tech school, but I came home for Christmas Break. My friend and I went to the zoo, and after months of being away Talukan still remembered me! I was so excited!!

That was like 15 years ago. I don’t think he would still recognize me anymore. I don’t think I would recognize him, either. We’re both adults now. I’m not the cute, young thing I was then, and he’s probably got those flaps on the side of his face that adult orangutans get. It would be cool to have a reunion, though. Catch up over coffee or something.
2 Responses to “Good memory”

  1. 1 Chris

    Glad to be of assistance. I think it would be so cool if you went back and he STILL remembered you.

  2. 2 Amy

    That would be so cool, Chris 🙂


Leave a Reply

