The song that makes me cry..

16Jan07

Somewhere Over the Rainbow. Specifically the version by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole …

I’d heard it in commercials and stuff before, but I heard it on the episode of ER where Dr. Greene dies, and I completely lost it. Sure it was sad that he was dying, but the song was just like twisting the knife. I swear I went into mourning for like 3 days about a fucking TV character.

This version of the song is so beautiful to me, words really cannot describe it. While it makes me cry, it makes me happy at the same time. The barbershop quartet guys on Scrubs sang it on an episode, and again, it gave me goose bumps and made me misty. I hear it on Kelloggs commercials lately, and in some movies, and my eyes well up almost every single time.

The song itself has some significance in my life anyway. As a girl I loved the Wizard of Oz. I remember watching it when it came on TV every year (yes, kids, there was a time when VCR’s and DVD’s didn’t exist). I even remember my mom dressing up as the Wicked Witch, green makeup and all, to play with me so I could be Dorothy. Then, as a teenager, I got to play Dorothy in my high school’s production of the Wizard of Oz.

So, yeah. Cry. Sob. Snotmonster. Me.

2 Responses to “The song that makes me cry..”

  1. 1 Jen

    I never liked Dr. Greene

  2. 2 Blogarita

    This song doesn’t make me cry, but I do like it. Much better than the original Judy Garland version, IMO.


Leave a Reply

