Rhyming

21Feb07

I use the word “wonky” occasionally. I heard someone on TV use it the other day, and my friend wondered what it meant. Even though he supposedly reads my blog, he had never heard it.

I don’t know if there is a real definition for it, and I don’t feel like looking it up. When I use it, I mean “off kilter” or “messed up”, or whatever… something like that.

As I was thinking about this, I started rhyming the word. Then I started thinking of pictures. The following is the result….

Wonk-y

Cronk-y

Donkey

shut up Honky

12 Responses to “Rhyming”

  1. 1 Nobody™

    That last one made me LOL!

    Wonky is a good word. I agree that it means ‘off kilter’.

  2. 2 Chris

    Love it! Sherman Hemsley makes any post better!

  3. 3 Teri

    that last one also made me LOL

    you are a true poet.

  4. 4 Flannery Alden

    I love “shut up Honky”. I could hear it ringing in my ears as I read it. Thank you for my moment of joy.

    Actually, I think I’m going to start saying this in my day-to-day life.

  5. 5 Dick Small

    I could see George Jefferson saying, to Tom Willis:
    “Shut up, you wonky cronky honkey donkey!”.
    And then the audience cracks up and laughs and claps because the small little black guy just insulted a bigger white guy and made in look like a moron in front of a national TV viewing audience. Yes, I miss that show, for sure.

  6. 6 Dick Small

    I’m sorry. “made HIM look like a moron”, not “made IN look like a moron”.

  7. 7 Blogarita

    I loves me some George Jefferson!

    I think wonky means about the same thing as hinky. And then you could do hinky, hunky, hanky and still wind up with honky. LOL!

  8. 8 Big Orange

    what about someone hitting someone the head and call it “bonky”??

    “wonky”, bTW, is chiefly british slang– Roald dahl was fond of it.

  9. 9 Cheryl

    Amy – This is a cross-blog comment.
    I believe that we are in fact the same person, except that I have brown & silver hair. However, I do have the child issued crows feet & laugh lines.
    I use the word Wonky ALL the time and will validate that it means off kilter.
    I feel compelled to end my prayers with “God bless all my friends” just in case I forgot one of them. I wouldn’t want to feel responsible if something happened to them.
    I really like you.
    The End.

  10. 10 Dick Small

    I really like you, too, Amy. aLOT.. Like, maybe TOO much, if you know what I mean……

  11. 11 Amy

    Flannery.. I hope you do use it day to day. I think we need to bring it back.

    I actually did think about “bonky”, Big Orange, but thought it might be hard to find in a picture.

    Cheryl… freaky.

    Dick… freaky.

  12. 12 Dick Small

    Admit it, Amy, you’re Cheryl, aren’t you?? Well, I find it all RATHER disturbing, actually..


Leave a Reply

