Happy Birthday Mike (and other person… you know who you are)…

23Feb07


Today is my son Mike’s 14th birthday.

In honor of his birthday I took a good long look in the mirror at myself. I am the mother of a 14 year old. And yes, how wonderful of me to make his birthday all about me. He’s at school, having a normal 14 year old life, we’ll celebrate his birthday tonight and this weekend. I did bake him a cake, and this morning I made him French Toast. But, back to me and the mirror…

My hair is blonde… naturally blonde (I know, hard to believe). So, if I have any gray hairs, it’s pretty hard to tell. But, I am pretty sure I do have gray hairs. Or silver… yeah, silver sounds better than gray.

I also have wrinkles, crows feet, whatever.

But, I don’t really care. I’m not gonna go out and overdose on botox.

In fact, last week when I took Mike to the ER for his ear infection, the lady taking my information told me I don’t look old enough to be his mother. So, thanks lady!!

I have to say that I think my gray silver hairs are not caused by me being 33, because 33 is pretty young really. But, by the fact that I’m the mother of a 14 year old. That makes me feel old more than my age.

Anyway… Happy Birthday Mike! I can’t believe it was 14 years ago that I was holding him in my arms and meeting him for the first time, how his little hand fit around my pinky finger. And now he’s taller than me, his hands are bigger than mine, and I’m just amazed how great he’s turned out even though I’m his mom.

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday Mike (and other person… you know who you are)…”

  1. 1 Dick Small

    Happy birthday, Mike!

  2. 2 dirty

    Congrats Amy (see?…I continue to make it about you)…There is nothing more impressive than keeping a child alive…you are a hero.

    33 is young. I’ll be 33 when my oldest is 14 (If I’m doing the math right).

    Oh yeah, HAPPY BIRTHDAY MIKE…don’t forget what your mother went through to give you life…she rules!

  3. 3 Sans Pantaloons

    Happy Birthday Mike!
    Amy, I would have said you look not a day over 26.

  4. 4 Anonymous

    Happy birthday Mike, from the other person! (Thanks Amy!) xoxo

  5. 5 Megan

    Happy Birthday to your kiddo!

    I’ve been coloring my gray hair since I was 22, if you can believe that. Apparently the Irish gray early, although 22 seems excessively early to me. At 31, I’m probably a good 50% gray.

  6. 6 Dave Evanns

    I am 33 and have alot of grey hair! but I shave my head, so now they are showing up in my goat-tee! DAMN!


Leave a Reply

