The Dumbest Things I’ve Ever Done, Volume I

01Mar07

Situation: I burned the oatmeal cookies

Date: February 28, 2007

The story: I really needed something sweet. Usually we have some Little Debbie snacks or something around the house, but tonight there was nothing. But, lucky for me I had all the ingredients to make oatmeal cookies. I mixed the butter and brown sugar until it was light and fluffly like the recipe called for, then added the other ingredients. I dropped huge dollops of oatmeal cookie batter onto my baking sheet and put it in the perfectly heated oven. I set the timer. When the timer went off, I looked at the cookies and they didn’t seem done enough, so I left them in there a little longer. I decided to poke around the internet a little, at some of my favorite blogs and sites, and completely forgot about them. Later, I smelled the sweet, burning cookies and cursed myself.

Luckily I had already made a good batch and also still had some batter for more.
9 Responses to “The Dumbest Things I’ve Ever Done, Volume I”

  1. 1 snowywoodz

    I’m glad it all worked out in the end…. sorry, but that’s the best I can come up with at 4:48 a.m. EST.

  2. 2 Jen

    did you put chocolate chips
    in them? because raisins suck

    tell me you didnt
    put raisins in them Amy!!

  3. 3 Amy

    No, Jen… you can rest easy… no raisins. I would’ve put chocolate chips, but all I had was butterscotch, so I used those.

    Snowy… I would really expect more from you at any time of day. I’m so disappointed.

  4. 4 Mel

    I have done that so many times you would not believe it!! I got a new oven last year with a built in timer and this really LOUD annoying beeping goes off and wont stop until you turn the oven off. It has saved many meals and batches of cookies lol.

  5. 5 Chris

    I’m with Jen. Fuck raisins (at least in cookies).

  6. 6 Tanya Espanya

    You see why you shouldn’t be poking the internet? See what happens?

    Raisins, fine, but butterscotch?! Blech!

    I made some muffins the other day and forgot to add the chopped walnuts, so I had to add them just prior to baking, sprinkled on top of the batter.

  7. 7 snowywoodz

    Dang.

  8. 8 Grant Miller

    You know, you can get those premade in stores.

  9. 9 Mr. Fabulous

    No…….now I am craving those Little Debbie Zebra cakes….

    Curse you, woman!


Leave a Reply

