Drink, Drank, Drunk…

31Mar07

Has anyone ever seen and/or participated in a drinking contest?

I’m not talking about your silly little games like Quarters or Asshole or whatever… I mean just you and one other person drinking shots to see who passes out or pukes first, or just gives up first. And there’s a whole crowd gathered around watching and placing bets… and you make witty little comments to each other, and the crowd ooohs and aaahhs and cheers and stuff.

I see this happen on TV and in movies a lot, and I just wondered if it actually ever happened.

I would totally lose.


8 Responses to “Drink, Drank, Drunk…”

  1. 1 Grant Miller

    I tried something once in college called power hour. Not really a game, as there is no winner. But the gist is you take a shot of beer every minute for an hour. Seems simple, but I remember being pretty wasted after about 20 minutes.

  2. 2 Amy

    Hmm.. interesting…

    I remember some friends of mine playing some game where they took a shot of something everytime someone got killed in the movie “Cobra”, which is a lot I guess.

  3. 3 SushiBoy

    Never with alcohal. I’ve seen a ‘Gallon challenge’ where the idiots, err.. contestants, try to chug a gallon of milk without throwing up. Most people give up, they usually puke anyway, some people don’t give up, they always throw up.
    Another dumb game I’ve seen is the ‘Shasta Shootout’, in this one the numbskulls attempt to eat a supersized Double Quarter with cheese Meal from McDonalds followed up by a 3 leiter bottle of Shasta Soda. This one turns into another Puke Fest. I’m suprised that no one has gone into a diabetic coma from this. Maybe they puke to soon.

  4. 4 Sans Pantaloons

    I have drunk for Scotland. 1980 on the ferry to Corfu, myself and a Canadian Gentleman got into a ouzo drinking contest.

    I believe I won by default seeing that I managed to get off the ferry at Corfu. The Canadian Gentleman was still passed out in the passengers lounge.

    I have zero recollection after the first half bottle, but I was told I spent much of the night trying to walk through bulkheads where no doors existed.

    At least two other passengers donated their bottles of ouzo to the contest. Very kind of them!

  5. 5 Valerie

    No drinking contests for this lightweight, but last September I went to a party and announced that I had never had Jagermeister (sp?), then ended up doing 2 shots of it, and 2 other shots of something else (tequila?) within 20 minutes and then I ended up with appendicitis.

    Never again.

    But I guess you can only get appendicitis once, right?

  6. 6 Jen

    nope
    I’d lose too

  7. 7 Chris

    I haven’t ever played a game like this and I’m not a big fan of drinking games in general. I find that, for me, the games tend to slow down my usual drinking pace.

  8. It was hard to find your website in google.
    You should create some hi PR contextual backlinks in order to rank your blog.
    I know – writing articles is very time consuming, but contextual backlinks are the best type of backlinks.
    I know one cool tool that will help you to create unique, readable content
    in minute, just type in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a minute


Leave a comment