Alphabet

21Apr07

Mr. B.

When I was a little girl, I assigned the letters and numbers genders. I’m not sure why I did this… I can’t remember if it was before or after kindergarten.

In kindergarten I remember watching a show called “The Letter People”, which had puppets that were letters, so that could be why, because the show did that. But, I think I did it all on my own.

Here, in it’s entirety, is the alphabet and what gender each letter is.

A- female (probably because my name begins with A, and I’m a girl)
B- male
C- male
D- male
E- male
F- male
G- male
H- female, but kinda butch
I- male, but kinda gay
J- male, kinda gay
K- female
L- female
M- female
N- female, but kinda butch
O- female
P- male
Q- female
R- male
S- male
T- male
U- female, but I thought no one who was pretty could possibly have a name that began with a U
V- male
W- male, and really geeky
X- male
Y- male
Z- male

I don’t know why it’s mostly a male dominated alphabet. I’m sure if you wanted to dig deep enough we could figure it out, but I’m pretty sure no one really cares that much, including me.

If you’re wondering about the numbers…

1- male
2- male
3- female
4- male
5- male
6- female
7- male
8- female, kinda butch
9- female, dominatrix (9 was strong and tough and beautiful, and you didn’t want to mess with her)
0- didn’t really count for me. I didn’t really think of it as a number when I was this age.

6 Responses to “Alphabet”

  1. How in the name of Freud did the letter “V” become male?

  2. Interesting TV show The Letter People. I don’t believe the UK had that. I watched ‘Andy Pandy’, ‘Muffin the Mule’ and ‘The Flower Pot Men’. I don’t recall any alphanumerical gender association. Then again, I don’t recall last week so…

  3. 3 amy

    WP- This was long before I knew what V could possibly stand for.

    Sans- well, I don’t know what any of those shows are, either. I don’t think The Letter People were very well known around here.

  4. You are very odd.

    I’ve never heard of The Letter People. I watched Sesame Street and The Electric Company when I was a kid.

  5. Interesting… very, very interesting.

  6. 6 Dee

    Wow, I really thought I was the only one who ever assigned letters and numbers genders. ha, glad I’m not alone. And the weird thing is, most of those are the same as mine, although there are a few discrepancies here and there. Funny how the mind can relate things like that.


Leave a Reply

