The Ice Cream Man wants to know…

19May07


Do your ears hang low?
Do they wobble to and fro?
Can you tie them in a knot?
Can you tie them in a bow?
Can you throw them o’er your shoulder
like a continental soldier?
Do your ears hang low?

At least that’s the song that he plays over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over as he drives through my neighborhood.

Also, is it just me, or were ice cream trucks a lot cleaner when I was a kid? Seems like the ones I see nowadays (yup, nowadays) are really yucky. Maybe it’s just the ones in the area that I live in, too. The stickers advertising the ice cream are all torn and dirty… and usually it’s not an ice cream truck at all, but a van… and the owner has painted “Watch for children” on it somewhere, freehand, so it looks like his 5 year old wrote it. I’m afraid to buy ice cream from these vehicles, either because they’ll whip open the sliding van door and kidnap me, or because I might end up touching it and catching something that the doctors wouldn’t even be able to diagnose.

Unless it’s really super hot, then I don’t care I just want some damn ice cream.



8 Responses to “The Ice Cream Man wants to know…”

  1. 1 Jolene

    As rural as we are, we have an ice cream man. We can hear him coming a mile away. I think the tune he plays is “It’s a Small World”. He’s a nice guy and his truck (no van here), is shiny new.

    I have no problem with him except that I can go buy three one-half gallons for the price we pay for his items. Then the kids don’t eat the stuff and stick it in my freezer to gunk it up.

    He’s a nuisance. Hearing that jingle coming is like Pavlov’s dog and the damn bell. Instead of drooling on command, the kids hear the tune and proceed to beg for money.

  2. They play Pop Goes the Weasel and The Entertainer here. We’ve only bought from the ice cream van (yes, it is a van here, too) once. It was really freaking hot that day.

  3. Gaaahhh! What kind of aural torture is that? That’s what they should play over and over again at Camp X-Ray, that would make anyone confess.

  4. 4 dirty

    There are 2 different trucks that prowl my neighborhood. One is dirty and the driver is a 500 pound woman that never showers and then there is this super nice van type truck.

    Both of them have annoying music.

  5. I haven’t seen one in our new town. Even if I did see one I wouldn’t buy from it. Ice cream from the vans/trucks/mopeds is more expensive than a churros at a theme parks. And their drivers can be scarier than Carnies!

  6. In college, my friends and I changed the words to the song you mentioned:

    Do your boobs hang low?
    Do they wobble to and fro?
    Can you tie them in a knot?
    Can you tie them in a bow?
    Can you throw them o’er your shoulder
    like a continental soldier?
    Do your boobs hang low?

  7. Here they play the theme from the Godfather.

    Actually, my uncle hired an ice cream guy to come to his son’s birthday party (kid turned 16!) and it was mostly the ‘adults’ that were outside hanging on the truck – I had a banana split, baby!

  8. I’m an ice cream man.


Leave a comment