Slumber party memories…

08Jul07

untitled.jpg

Marni’s daughter had a slumber party, and it made me think of some of the ones I’ve had, or have been to. Let me share…

The first slumber party I remember going to was in 4th grade. It was my friends party. We had homemade pizza and caramel corn, and drove her parents crazy, but I couldn’t tell you a single thing we talked about. Also, someone broke into the house next door.

My first slumber party was for my 10th birthday. We went to “Showbiz Pizza”, which is now Chuck E Cheese. It was basically the exact same thing. Does anyone else remember Showbiz Pizza? Anyway… my little 10 year old girlfriends and I were in “Billy Bob’s Magic Cave”, which was just a room with black lights, and some boys our age asked us if we were virgins. I didn’t know what to say, because I had no clue what that meant. I remember telling this to my mom, and her eyes got wide and she said “I hope you said YES!”. I don’t remember what I said.

I’m sure there were a few more here and there, but the next one that sticks out is one from 7th grade. It was at a friends house. We played Truth or Dare, waited for girls to fall asleep to freeze their bras, watched movies, made prank phone calls, and ate junk food. My friend fell asleep with her glasses on, and I smeared shaving cream on the lenses. It was HILARIOUS when she woke up… but she was pissed. By the next morning I had shaving cream, Dr. Pepper, and nacho cheese in my hair… and a frozen bra. It was pretty embarrassing bringing home this hard, wet, crumpled up bra that my mom made me hang outside to dry.

11 Responses to “Slumber party memories…”

  1. 1 Chris

    Yeah, I remember Showbiz and its creepy animatronic show.

    Frozen bras, huh? I’ll have to remember that.

  2. “but she was pissed. By the next morning I had shaving cream, Dr. Pepper, and nacho cheese in my hair… and a frozen bra.”

    I’m confused, were you at a slumber party or pledging a sorority?

  3. 3 Amy

    Yes, Chris… I think frozen bras were a universal slumber party thing for girls old enough to wear them.

    WP- well, I did have low self esteem, so I’m sure I would’ve done anything they asked to make them like me.

  4. Oh yeah, Showbiz Pizza! At the time, the animatronic show was REALLY cool.

  5. That lady in the ad has some serious helmet hair.

  6. 6 Jolene

    You wouldn’t have been able to freeze my bra in 7th grade – I didn’t need one yet 🙂

    We used to do a lot of similar things at sleepovers. I went a little crazy with some eyeliner and my friend’s face. She wasn’t happy either because we had to go bowling the next day and she couldn’t get it off. Hee hee.

  7. Did Chcuk E. Cheese just kill Showbiz Pizza or something?

  8. That’s a very 80’s-looking family.

  9. Poor mom only gets a salad…

  10. “pledging a sorority”

    I meant “rushing” a sorority.

    Frozen bras? Mmmmmmm, tasty.

  11. 11 Keeli

    I think I was the one that froze your bra! Sorry!


Leave a Reply

