I’m going to tell you something really embarrassing…

14Oct07

For some reason I was remembering this today. I thought I would share it with you all. You may just throw your hands up in the air because there is just no hope for someone as dorky as me (or as I was as a child)… or you may embrace me.

Here it is.

brooke_cp88337754_400.jpg

One time, I don’t remember how old I was exactly… maybe 8 or 9… I looked in the mirror and pretended I was Brooke Shields while I sang along (with a hairbrush) to some song with the lyric “you ain’t worth the salt in my tears”. Like I even knew what that meant. I didn’t even know tears were salty. I mean, I’m sure I did, because I’m sure I had cried at some point in my life, and you know your tears (and lets face it, snot) runs down your face and onto your lips and you just kinda suck them in when you’re that age. And, in fact, I remember not even knowing that that is what the dude was singing… it was years later that I realized he was saying “you ain’t worth the salt in my tears”. I’m sure I just mouthed some… words or moved my mouth.

whit.jpg

Years later I was determined to be the white Whitney Houston (pre- Bobby Brown crack whore), and would stay up late on weekend nights trying to get my makeup and hair like hers. I mean, bright makeup and kinky hair always looks good on 13 year old white girls, right?

cyndi1.jpg

I’m sure my mom was much happier with my Brooke Shields and Whitney Houston phases than she was with my Cyndi Lauper phase, though.

10 Responses to “I’m going to tell you something really embarrassing…”

  1. I embrace you because I did the same thing. I used to stand on kitchen chairs and sing “When Will I See You” over and over and over.

    I tried the Whitney look as well, but Cyndi? I was too scared to color my hair or shave it… I dreamed of doing it though! My mom was too conservative to let me try…

  2. 2 coffeypot

    At least you didn’t have a thing for Phyllis Diller or Joan Rivers.

  3. Well, the closest I got to Cyndi’s look was the Halloween spray on hair colors. I shaved it a little bit in 7th grade, though.

    Wow, coffeypot… you’re right!

  4. You think that’s embarrassing? Ha! when I was little I’d watch MTV forever just waiting for the Thriller video to play so I could do the dance & try to get it all memorized so I could do it over & over until the nest time it came on a whole hour later! Oh & I was dressed as a Material Girl but with only one glove on. Yep, that’s how cool I was!

    & happy belated birthday to you my fellow Libra. I hope the year brings you much balance of love & luck ;->

    Any chance you’re down for some tailfeather shaking on the 3rd? I hear our favorite cover band will be in P-town!

  5. This topic is quite trendy in the net at the moment. What do you pay attention to while choosing what to write ?

  6. Thriller Videos are always great, i love those dancing zombies ::

  7. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Many thanks! Www.
    ukheaventv.com

  8. Someone essentially assist to make severely articles I’d state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page
    and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you
    made to create this actual post incredible. Fantastic task!

  9. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious
    experience ϲoncerning unpredicted feelings.

  10. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly loved surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!


Leave a Reply

