Chris tagged me.

16Oct07

TO DO: List 5 things you do, did or like that some may consider “totally lame,” but that you are totally proud of. Tag 5 others:

Well, I think my last post pointed out some of my lameness, but I’ll keep telling you more about it.

coh.jpg

1. I was addicted to an online game. City of Heroes, to be exact. Maybe addicted isn’t the right word, but close. It was so fun to create a hero, and get to know their powers, and defeat bad guys and get new powers (like flight, or teleportation, or some kick ass way to… kick ass), and see the newest ugly bad guy boss… and you would “meet” other players, and meet up with them every day and do missions and get to know them, and stay up until 4 in the morning and forget that there was life outside your computer. I loved it, but it really did suck away my life, so I had to stop. And, after a while no one was really playing it anymore anyway.

2. I love singing karaoke. There was a time when I would get standing ovations and people buying me drinks and stuff. And there is always some drunk retard who is convinced that I should go on American Idol, or move to Nashville and try to make it big.

3. I like funky socks. I mean, I have to look so conservative for most things I do (at least, I FEEL like I need to look conservative), so having funky, outrageous, silly socks is my way of expressing myself sometimes. And, it’s entertaining to the gyno when my feet are up in stirrups (which, thankfully, isn’t that often).

4. My first car. What a piece of crap. It was a ’78 Toyota Carolla that my dad bought new. He ended up giving it to my sister, who managed to total it. It sat around at our house for a while, and when I was able to drive I said “I’ll take it”. My dad fixed it so it was drivable, but it still looked lame. It was black on the bottom and silver on the top, and my sister had put this huge dragon sticker on the hood that peeled off but you could still tell it was there. Oh, and a super awesome bumper sticker that said “Chicago is my kind of town!”. Eventually my dad painted it electric blue for me, with a pink stripe, and put in a sunroof that leaked all the time. I put my own bumper sticker on it that said “There are 3 kinds of men… small, medium and OH MY GOD”, because at 16 I totally knew that. I ended up totalling the car again, and sold it for $300.00… but I think it was an awesome 1st car.

5. When I was in high school my friends and I would go to restaraunts and order from the non-alcoholic drink menu, because that made us seem so much more mature than just ordering a soda.

Tag, you’re it to…

Dick
Nobody
Sarah
Teri
Jolene

10 Responses to “Chris tagged me.”

  1. I love your answers, Amy. Maybe you really should go on American Idol, who knows? You could win. Maybe. Although Simon’s got to be a real pain in the butt to deal with.

    I didn’t pretend to be Brooke Shields but I just knew I’d be a big star someday, so whenever my parents would take my sister and I on rides in the car, I practice (in my head) my Academy Award acceptance speech for Best Actress). I haven’t won yet, but I’m prepared whenever the Academy is ready to bestow it on me.

    And #5, my friends and I did the same thing. We thought we were mature beyond words and wise beyond our year. Neither was even remotely true.

  2. 2 mixednut

    Funky socks rock. Pics please!

  3. I bet Zed pretended to be Brooke Shields. Oh, she may say she didn’t, but I think otherwise…

  4. Gotta be proud of that first car. Mine was a 1986 Dodge Omni. Cream corn in color. Used to stall out in front of the rest of the seniors trying to get out before the buses. So embarrassing.

    Never sang Karaoke, but I might if I was totally drunk.

  5. Okay, I did it.

  6. My first car was a 1973 Volkswagon super beetle. I totalled it on a telephone pole. I’d give anything to have that car back.

  7. Thanks for the tag. I’m gonna pass this time. Please don’t cry!

  8. Anyone who had a truly nice first card should be pummeled, but I guess that’s just me.

  9. Can we duet karaoke sometime?


  1. 1 Meme Time Again « The Middling Monettes

Leave a Reply

