Actual phone conversation today at work…

14Feb08

Please imagine “caller”s voice with a Flavr Flav quality to it. Or Flavor Flav…. whatever.

Me: Thank you for calling Blank and Blank (not the actual names of the lawyers, but you get the idea).

Caller: Yes, um, hello ma’am, um, ya know what I’m sayin’? Um, I received a letter, you know what I’m sayin’? From, um, someone saying they could, um, take my case, you know what I’m sayin’?

I don’t honestly remember the rest of the conversation because I was laughing to myself so hard about how desperately this guy wanted me to know what he was sayin’. I laughed out loud to my co-worker afterward about it.

The lawyer was out of the office, and I convinced the guy to leave him a voicemail. I can only imagine how that sounded. And what this guy might be like in the courtroom.

Know what I’m sayin’?

4 Responses to “Actual phone conversation today at work…”

  1. I know what you’re sayin’! Blank & Blank CheckBook sounds a good name for a firm…

  2. It’s a shame people get so flustered that they can’t even talk right.

  3. but at least it makes for some good laughs.

  4. Well, he didn’t say “hell-a,” right? So that means he isn’t from Cali, ya know what I’m sayin’?


Leave a Reply

