Jobs and stuff…

04Mar08

So, I started training for my new job 2 weeks ago. I almost couldn’t remember that, because my brain is so jumbled up with stuff I can barely remember my name.

It’s all so confusing! Mostly because they just have no real way of training right now. It’s like they decided “lets have a training class” and brought a bunch of people in but had no clue what they were going to train. It’s a “train” wreck (get it? I’m still a little sharp! Ok, so it was lame… sorry). It’s clear what our job is supposed to be, and there is sort of a manual for it… but then there are all kinds of exceptions. And it seems like we just keep running into all the exceptions and have never really been shown what we are actually supposed to do.

People keep saying it will get much easier once we are actually doing the job. I believe this, but in the mean time all this irrelevant crap is making me want to cry.

That, and the fact that I’ve got a cold. It was already super-hard to stay awake in this damn class, but now I have no idea how I’m supposed to accomplish that.

The dress code for this company is “business casual”, but they have “casual” days all the time. The entire month of Feb. was casual because of the bad weather. I guess they will give any excuse for a casual day, which is fine with me. But, some people take it too far and show up in their fucking pajamas… and I’m not even kidding.

On another note… did you know Wisconsin has grass? I’ve barely seen any since I’ve been here, but things are finally starting to melt around here! I still like the snow, but I’ll be glad when it’s warmer and nicer. I’ll be glad for Spring rain, and budding flowers and leaves, and Robins… and kitten season for the cat adoption fair!!

I really missed the changing seasons while living in California… it was just nice or rainy there. Cold, snowy winters really make you appreciate the warm sunny days much more. And California only had rain… not thunderstorms. Well, occasionally… maybe a little bit of thunder once a year… but I really like thunderstorms, and lightning! I’ll be excited for that, too! (Sure, I say that now, but I may change my tune when I have to worry about tornados… or tornadoes).

Anyway, just thought I’d update you all!

5 Responses to “Jobs and stuff…”

  1. 1 Mel

    I am so glad you updated! I have been wondering whats up with you. I hate training! How much longer is this training? Its been a few weeks hasnt it?

    I woudl never go to work in my pJs but sometimes It would nice to wear sweats LOL

  2. 2 coffeypot

    Thanks for the update. I know what you mean by ‘the exceptions.’ A company will spend millions, billions, no trillions of dollars on a new system and immediately start ‘bastardizing’ it to fit what they want – not what it is made for. Enjoy the grass. I don’t think you will get to see it much. I believe winter starts up there in June.

  3. The number of times I’ve been shouted at because I took too long to change from my sleeping pajamas into my fucking pajamas…

    There must be light at the end of the tunnel.

  4. Pajamas to work? Really? Wow, I’d like to work there.

    We just started to see grass here in the Chicago area this week…I forgot what it looked like!

  5. Thanks for the update. You can actually see grass?? That’s messed up! We are about 3″ short of having the record snowfall this year. I think it has literally snowed at least one day out of every 3 since Thanksgiving, and it’s 5 fucking degrees out right now. It’s enough to drive me crazy. I’m very ready for some thunderstorms.

    Hope the rest of your training goes well.


Leave a Reply

