Ok, I just have to vent…

10Mar08

about my property management company… if you can call it management.

So, you know the story about the cat already. I’m still bitter about that, but whatever.

Now they are charging me $99.42 for … nothing.

See, the same day that I called about my cat, I also called to tell them that the buzzer wasn’t working for my apartment (my building has one of those intercom systems). They told me they might have someone in the area and would see if someone could stop by. I wasn’t home, but had no problem with someone entering my apartment or whatever.

I got home from work that evening and checked to see if it was working, and it was.

2 days later was a snow day, and I stayed home from work. A guy came and buzzed my apartment to say he was there to fix it. I told him it was working, I thought someone had already been by to fix it. He sprayed some lube and was on his merry way.

A month later now I get this invoice. Supposedly they contracted this job out, and here is what the mainenance request form says… “Tenant did not notify office that buzzer was working. J & K made the trip for nothing.”
The invoice says “Tenant called & said door buzzer is not working. J & K was called & made trip. Buzzer was working.”

The property management company says someone from this J & K place called and set up the time to come over. I never even knew they contracted this out, or knew of a company called J & K… they did not speak to me. And, I didn’t have any messages from them or anything. And why the hell would I set up an appointment for a day that I was supposed to be working???????

They are supposed to be calling J & K to see who they talked to. But, I have a feeling this won’t come out in my favor. I can’t wait to move.

8 Responses to “Ok, I just have to vent…”

  1. Something like that would piss me off. I hope you fight it.

  2. Kick their ass, MishMash! How were you supposed to know that clairvoyance was part of the maintenance process at your building? This was all caused by their lack of communications during the process, not by anything you did or didn’t do.

  3. how much longer? I’m sorry, I hate dealing with men who treat you like you’re stupid.

  4. 4 Amy

    9 months left. I have no problem with my apartment, I wish I could stay… but I refuse to deal with these assholes any longer than I have to.

    I’ll fight it as much as I can, but I don’t really know how far I want to take it. Their word against mine, yadda yadda… I’m sure I can find some tenant right stuff, and wave my best friend attorney in their face or something.

    They aren’t even listed with the Better Business Bureau. Could that be because they would just get complaint after complaint after complaint? I think so.

  5. Jerks

  6. Kill my landlord. Kill my landlord.

  7. Rat bastards!

    Take them down!

  8. It must be a rule that all property managment companies and their “preferred contractors” have to be a bunch of crooks.


Leave a Reply

